12 - Studies of Religion - Religion in Australia 1945- present: Secularism
Academic Search Premier database (Newington's subscription)
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing access to full text, abstracts and peer reviewed scholarly journals and popular press periodicals.
- Capturing the Religious Spirit: A Challenge for the Secular State.Smith, M., & Marden, P. (2013). Capturing the Religious Spirit: A Challenge for the Secular State. Journal Of Church & State, 55(1), 23-49.
Australia and New Zealand Points of View database (Newington's subscription)
- Australia / New Zealand Points of View This link opens in a new windowContains resources that present multiple sides of a current issue —including information on key topics of interest to Australia/New Zealand researchers — this database provides rich content that can help students realise and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Secularism : An OverviewAn overview is presented of the issue of secularism in Australian society. Terms defined include Constitution of Australia, agnosticism, and atheism. Other topics include social aspects of secularization in Australia, the history of religious divisions in Australian society, and the influence of Christian politicians in Australian society.
Has atheism become a religion?
Our beloved Agony Aunts and Uncles discuss their own perspectives on faith and spirituality in Australia. Features perspectives from Susan Carland, Tom Ballard, Jane Caro, Lawrence Mooney, Kick Gurry, John Elliott, Tom Elliott, Kate Langbroek, Sam Pang, and Waleed Aly.
The Agony of God. [Video File]. 2015. Retrieved from https://clickv.ie/w/fm9g?et=358&i=5.
JStor database (Newington's subscription)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- Australian Secularists: The Disavowal of Denominational AllegianceMichael Hogan Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion Vol. 18, No. 4 (Dec., 1979), pp. 390-404
Web pages and web documents
- Creating a better Australia: reinventing secularismWhile society has in many ways become more secular, the public profile of religion in society has seemingly also become more pronounced. As the power of established religion apparently declines, there has been a resurgence in diverse forms of religious expression.
Print books
