Skip to main content

12 - Visual Arts - Art and Power: Picasso : journal articles in databases

A research guide for Year 12 HSC Visual Arts module 'art and power'. Includes links to online articles and other information.

JStore database

CLICK HERE TO SEARCH JSTORE

 

You can choose how you search the JStore database:

1. You can copy and paste a title (from below) into the search box to retrieve an article, OR

2. You can search the whole database at once, using keyword strings, OR

3. You can pick a journal title  and search within that journal title, OR

4. You can pick a journal title  and browse within that journal title

 

Picasso's Night Fishing at Antibes: A Meditation on Death

Mark Rosenthal

The Art Bulletin, Vol. 65, No. 4 (Dec., 1983), pp. 649-658

 

Picasso's Night Fishing at Antibes: Autobiography, Apocalypse, and the Spanish Civil War

Timothy Anglin Burgard, Picasso

The Art Bulletin, Vol. 68, No. 4 (Dec., 1986), pp. 657-672

...as the vehicle for these overlapping concerns, Picasso subverted the formal conventions of traditional history painting while retaining both historical content and, it is argued here, a strong political stance. Few of Picasso's works produced between the First and Sec- ond World Wars have been the subject of as much critical...

 

Picasso's Communist Interlude: The Murals of 'War' and 'Peace'

Kirsten Hoving Keen

The Burlington Magazine, Vol. 122, No. 928, Special Issue Devoted to Twentieth Century Art (Jul., 1980), pp. 464-470

 

From Narrative to "Iconic" in Picasso: The Buried Allegory in Bread and Fruitdish on a Table and the Role of Les Demoiselles d'Avignon

William Rubin

The Art Bulletin, Vol. 65, No. 4 (Dec., 1983), pp. 615-649

...From Narrative to "Iconic" in Picasso : The Buried Allegory in Bread and Fruitdish on a Table and the Role of Les Demoiselles d'Avignon' William Rubin No phase of Picasso's early development has been less adequately treated in monographs on the artist or in histories of Cubism than the two-year...

 

Picasso, Cubism, and Reflexivity

Edward F. Fry

Art Journal, Vol. 47, No. 4, Revising Cubism (Winter, 1988), pp. 296-310

...Picasso , Cubism, and Reflexivity By Edward F. Fry The interpretation of Cubism has a great bearing on the understanding of modernism, and the understanding of modernism plays in turn a central role in most of twentieth-century art to this day. Yet only a narrow range of views regarding precisely...

 

A Technical Study of Picasso's Construction 'Still Life' (1914)

Jackie Heuman

The Burlington Magazine, Vol. 150, No. 1268, Sculpture (Nov., 2008), pp. 749-754

 

 

Gertrude Stein and Picasso: The Language of Surfaces

L. T. Fitz

American Literature, Vol. 45, No. 2 (May, 1973), pp. 228-237

...struggle with the problem of what is seen, the struggle "not to express the things he did not see, that is to say the things everybody is certain of seeing but which they do not really see."1 Picasso , Stein points out, is not like other painters in his use of...

 

The Unknown Picasso

Alfred Werner

The Massachusetts Review, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Winter, 1961), pp. 349-354

...Alfred Werner The Unknown Picasso Of the three Picassos: the demi-god, the man, and the monster, the general public knows only the first and the last. Even his own mother, in her old age, admired...

 

A Youthful Genius Confronts His Destiny: Picasso's "Old Guitarist" in The Art Institute of Chicago

Mary Mathews Gedo, Picasso

Art Institute of Chicago Museum Studies, Vol. 12, No. 2, The Helen Birch Bartlett Memorial Collection (1986), pp. 152-165

...in a number of his paintings and prints. This theme was but one of several associated with Goya that the young Picasso would adopt and make his own.' He painted his masterful version, The Old Guitarist (fig. 1), now part of the Helen Birch Bartlett Memorial Collec- tion of The Art...

 

 

Academic Search Premier database

CLICK HERE TO SEARCH ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER DATABASE

 

You can choose how you search the Academic Search Premier database:

1. You can copy and paste a title (from below) into the search box to retrieve an article, OR

2. You can search the whole database at once, using keyword strings, OR

3. You can pick a journal title  and search within that journal title, OR

4. You can pick a journal title  and browse within that journal title

Guernica: Horror and inspiration.

By: Rhodes, Richard. Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists. Nov2013, Vol. 69 Issue 6, p19-25

Subjects: INCENDIARY bombs; HISTORY; BASQUES; SPAIN; CIVIL War, 1936-1939; GUERNICA (Spain); BOMBARDMENT, 1937; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973. Guernica

 

The Artistic Collaboration of Pablo Picasso and Julio Gonzalez

By: Withers, Josephine. Art Journal. Dec75, Vol. 35 Issue 2, p107. 8p.Add to folder

The notebooks of Pablo Picasso.

By: Shinder, Jason. Kenyon Review. Spring90, Vol. 12 Issue 2, p158.

Subjects: PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973

Pablo Picasso. (cover story).

By: Hughes, Robert. Time. 6/8/1998, Vol. 151 Issue 22, p72. 

Subjects: PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973

Analyzing Artistic Innovation: The Greatest Breakthroughs of the Twentieth Century.

By: Galenson, David W. Historical Methods. Summer2008, Vol. 41 Issue 3, p111-120

Subjects: MODERN art -- 20th century -- History; CONCEPTUAL art; ARTISTS; INFLUENCE (Literary, artistic, etc.); HISTORY; CREATIVE ability; POP art; TECHNOLOGICAL innovations; Independent Artists, Writers, and Performers; Independent visual artists and artisans; 20TH century; MATISSE, Henri, 1869-1954; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973; WARHOL, Andy, 1928-1987. Shadows

Pablo Picasso:The Painter as Proteus.

By: HUGHES, ROBERT. Time. 4/23/1973, Vol. 101 Issue 17, p100

Picasso: No.1 With a Palette.

By: Plagens, Peter. Newsweek. 11/5/2007, Vol. 150 Issue 19, p60-61

Subjects: CUBISM -- Influence; MODERN art -- 20th century; SOCIAL impact; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973; PICASSO,Pablo, 1881-1973. Demoiselles d' Avignon

Analyzing Political Art to Get at Historical Fact: Guernica and the Spanish Civil War.

By: Ray, Beverly. Social Studies. Jul/Aug2006, Vol. 97 Issue 4, p168-171. 4p. 2 Charts.

Subjects: CLASSROOM activities; ACTIVITY programs in education; CIVIL war; SOCIAL sciences -- Study & teaching; EDUCATION; Educational Support Services; All Other Miscellaneous Schools and Instruction; Administration of Education Programs; Research and Development in the Social Sciences and Humanities; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973. Guernica

Response: Artists in Times of War.

By: Leighten, Patricia. Art Bulletin. Mar2009, Vol. 91 Issue 1, p35-44. 10p.

Subjects: ART -- Political aspects; HISTORY; SPAIN; PARTI communiste francais; CIVIL War, 1936-1939; PICASSO'SCloset (Theatrical production); PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973; DORFMAN, Ariel, 1942-

The Creative Process in Picasso's Guernica Sketches: Monotonic Improvements versus Nonmonotonic Variants.

By: Simonton, Dean Keith. Creativity Research Journal. 2007, Vol. 19 Issue 4, p329-344.

Subjects: CREATIVE ability; MEMORY; DRAWING; PAINTING; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973. Guernica; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973

 

Picasso's Collages and the Threat of War, 1912-13.

By: Leighten, Patricia. Art Bulletin. Dec85, Vol. 67 Issue 4, p653

Subjects: COLLAGE; ARTISTS -- Political activity; CUBISM; ANARCHISM; Independent visual artists and artisans; Independent Artists, Writers, and Performers; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-1973

 

Picasso's Collages and the Force of Cubism.

By: Altieri, Charles. Kenyon Review. Spring84, Vol. 6 Issue 2, p8. 26p.

Subjects: MODERNISM (Art) -- History; ART criticism -- History; CONSTRUCTIVISM (Art); CREATION (Literary, artistic, etc.) -- Social aspects; 20TH century; PICASSO, Pablo, 1881-197