Skip to main content

12 - Visual Arts - Art and Power: Kentridge : journal articles in databases

A research guide for Year 12 HSC Visual Arts module 'art and power'. Includes links to online articles and other information.

Academic Search Premier database

CLICK HERE TO SEARCH ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER DATABASE

 You can choose how you search the Academic Search Premier database:

1. You can copy and paste a title (from below) into the search box to retrieve an article, OR

2. You can search the whole database at once, using keyword strings, OR

3. You can pick a journal title  and search within that journal title, OR

4. You can pick a journal title  and browse within that journal title

HISTORY AS THE MAIN COMPLAINT: WILLIAM KENTRIDGE AND THE MAKING OF POST-APARTHEID SOUTH AFRICA.

By: Dubow, Jessica; Rosengarten, Ruth. Art History. Sep2004, Vol. 27 Issue 4, p671-690

 Subjects: HISTORY in art; POLITICS in art; APARTHEID in art; ARTISTS; SOUTH Africa; Independent Artists, Writers, and Performers; Independent visual artists and artisans; KENTRIDGEWilliam, 1955-

Challenges of Re-politicisation.

By: Stavrakakis, Yannis. Third Text. Sep2012, Vol. 26 Issue 5, p551-565.

 Subjects: ART -- Political aspects; ART theory; MOUFFE, Chantal, 1943-; GORMLEY, Antony, 1950-; KENTRIDGE,William

 

Challenges of Re-politicisation.

By: Stavrakakis, Yannis. Third Text. Sep2012, Vol. 26 Issue 5, p551-565.

 Subjects: ART -- Political aspects; ART theory; MOUFFE, Chantal, 1943-; GORMLEY, Antony, 1950-; KENTRIDGEWilliam

 

Progress, Progression, Procession: William Kentridge and the Narratology of Transitional Justice.

By: Rothberg, Michael. Narrative. Jan2012, Vol. 20 Issue 1, p1-24. 24p. 6 Black and White Photographs.

Subjects: TRANSITIONAL justice; CHARCOAL drawing; APARTHEID & art; AESTHETIC movement (Art); INVICTUS (Film); KENTRIDGE, William, 1955-; BENJAMIN, Walter, 1892-1940

The Time-image: William Kentridge Interviewed by Cheryl Kaplan.

PAJ: A Journal of Performance & Art. May2005, Vol. 27 Issue 80, p28-44. 

Subjects: PERFORMING arts; SOUTH Africa; INTERVIEWS; WOYZECK on the Highveld (Theatrical production); FAUSTUS in Africa! (Theatrical production);KENTRIDGE, William, 1955-

Black Box: An Interview with William Kentridge.
By: Janku, Laura Richard. ArtUS. Jul-Aug2006, Issue 14, p8-11

Subjects: THEATRICAL scenery; ARTISTS; ART; Independent Artists, Writers, and Performers; Independent visual artists and artisans; MAGIC Flute, The (Theatrical production); KENTRIDGE, William, 1955- -- Interviews

 

Man of Constant Sorrow.
By: Lacayo, Richard. Time. 3/30/2009, Vol. 173 Issue 12, p66-68. 

Subjects: CHARCOAL drawing; ANIMATORS; SOUTH Africans; APARTHEID; APARTHEID in art; SOUTH Africa; Independent Artists, Writers, and Performers; KENTRIDGE, William, 1955-

10 Questions.

By: Luscombe, Belinda. Time. 12/2/2013, Vol. 182 Issue 23, p68. .

Subjects: DRAWING; VIDEO art; MALE artists; SOCIAL aspects; INTERVIEWS; FORTUNA (Book); KENTRIDGE, William, 1955- -- Interviews; MANDELA, Nelson, 1918-2013

JStore database

CLICK HERE TO SEARCH JSTORE

You can choose how you search the JStore database:

1. You can copy and paste a title (from below) into the search box to retrieve an article, OR

2. You can search the whole database at once, using keyword strings, OR

3. You can pick a journal title  and search within that journal title, OR

4. You can pick a journal title  and browse within that journal title

 

William Kentridge: Retrospective

Michael Godby

Art Journal, Vol. 58, No. 3 (Autumn, 1999), pp. 74-85

...made in lectures and interviews over the years. William Kentridge was born in Johannesburg in 955g. Growing up in the home of two distinguished lawyers, he was made aware at an early age of the appalling cost of South Africa's apartheid system, both to the victims of an oppressive regime and...

 

William Kentridge's What Will Corne

JENNIFER R. GROSS

Yale University Art Gallery Bulletin, State of the Art: Contemporary Sculpture (2009), pp. 93-95

...William Kentridge 's What Will Come JENNIFER R. GROSS William Kentridge's What Will Come (fig. ι) is a sculptural installation that immerses the viewer in an odyssey of sound, physical con- frontation, and visual perplexity to effect its aesthetic aspirations. In this work, pictorial narrative merges with visceral sculptural engagement to...

 

Ethnography, Art, and Justice: The Example of William Kentridge

CHARLES MOLESWORTH

Salmagundi, No. 152 (Fall 2006), pp. 38-45

...artists strive to make work that is, or hopes to be, at once fully political and fully realized in esthetic terms. One such is William Kentridge . It is not only his citizenship in the state of South Africa that leads him to political questions, but that his citizenship will of...

 

Blood for Blood

Yvette Christiansë

Transition, No. 88 (2001), pp. 66-86

...I know. Blood for blood. And some days I look hard through the sun that jumps off the water and I remember other boats. William Kentridge , Portage (detail). 2000. Courtesy of Harry N. Abrams, Inc., New York, and the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago Baro, this is what your mother...

 

Review : William Kentridge

Review by: Laurie Ann Farrell

African Arts, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Summer, 2002), pp. 81-83

...gular expression, which is the lifeblood of the experience of art. O WILLIAM KENTRIDGE New Museum of Contemporary Art New York, New York June 2-September 16, 2001 Reviewed by Laurie Ann Farrell Only thirteen years ago, William Kentridge had difficulty persuading New York art gal- leries to look at slides of...

 

 

The Second Johannesburg Biennale

Carol Becker, Okwui Enwezor

Art Journal, Vol. 57, No. 2 (Summer, 1998), pp. 86-107

...the world turned its back on. There were also drawings by William Kentridge from The Trials of Ubu and Ubu and the Truth Commission, a play by Kentridge, Jane Taylor, and the Hand-Spring Puppets. This animated, humorous, damning production was based on Ubu Roi and featured eccentric, engaging movement...

 

Contemporary Performance/Technology

Johannes Birringer

Theatre Journal, Vol. 51, No. 4, Theatre and Technology (Dec., 1999), pp. 361-381

...to his body. Stelarc quite literally "animates" his own body, testing the human-machine interfaces of our so-called cyberspatial future. On the other hand, the charcoal drawings of South African artistWilliam Kentridge , which were among the most provocative works shown at the 1997 "documenta...

 

The Truth Commission and Post-Apartheid Literature in South Africa

Shane Graham

Research in African Literatures, Vol. 34, No. 1 (Spring, 2003), pp. 11-30

...of course, is that he spends his nights torturing and murdering the "enemies of the state." When Ma learns the truth, she weeps, not from shock but from pride: "The sly old jackal. I had no idea Pa was so important! All along, I thought he was betraying me and here...

 

Afropolis: From Johannesburg

Sarah Nuttall, Achille Mbembe

PMLA, Vol. 122, No. 1, Special Topic: Cities (Jan., 2007), pp. 281-288

...Achille Mbembe 287 Fig. 6 William Kentridge , untitled, 1996. Charcoal on paper. tached and unanchored from a scandalous signified, now inexactly remembered. A city of surfaces, capitalist brashness, in which only some want to remember, or in which the past appears fleetingly, glimpsed as parodic refer ence or embedded in...